What is IGNOU? The World’s Largest Open University

Written by Editorial Team

Published on:

Have you ever thought that getting higher education was too difficult? Maybe you’re a busy professional managing many tasks, or perhaps you live in a remote area with few educational choices. If that’s the case, Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) could be the solution you’ve been looking for.

Founded in 1985 with the goal of creating an inclusive knowledge society, IGNOU has overcome geographical and financial obstacles, providing millions with access to quality education. But what is IGNOU, and how can it help you?

What is IGNOU University?

Ignou is the world’s largest Open University, with over 4 million students enrolled in its various programmes. It offers a wide range of certification, diploma, pg diploma , undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral programmes through its network of regional centres and study centres.

The university also has a strong focus on research, with over 600 research projects currently underway. It has a team of over 1,200 full-time and part-time faculty members, who are engaged in teaching and research activities.

The Ignou website is a comprehensive resource for students, with information on all aspects of the university, its courses, facilities and services. IGNOU also provides access to a range of online resources, such as the university’s e-learning platform, Ignou TV and the Ignou Radio service.

If you’re looking for an accessible, flexible, and affordable way to earn a degree, then IGNOU is the perfect choice.

IGNOU Official Website: http://ignou.ac.in/

Types of Courses Offered by IGNOU

There are a variety of courses offered by Ignou, which cater to different needs and interests. Below is a brief overview of some of the most popular courses:

1) Certificate Programs: These short-term programs are designed to provide students with specific skills and knowledge in a particular field. They typically last for 6-12 months, and can be taken either online or offline.

2) Diploma Programs: These programs offer a more in-depth study of a particular subject, and typically last for 1-2 years. Students enrolled in a diploma program will take both theoretical and practical courses.

3) Degree Programs: Degree programs usually take 3-4 years to complete, and offer a comprehensive education in a chosen field. Students will take courses in both theory and practice, and will often be required to complete a research project or thesis.

4) Masters Programs: Masters programs are designed for students who wish to pursue advanced study in a particular field. These programs typically last for 2 years, and require the completion of a research thesis.

5) Doctoral Programs: Doctoral programs are the highest level of study available at Ignou. These programs are designed for students who wish to pursue careers in academia.

Read Also: 3 SImple Ways: How to Submit IGNOU Assignment?

The Eligibility Criteria for each Course

Before you apply for any course on the IGNOU official website, it is important that you check the eligibility criteria. This is to ensure that you are eligible for the course and will be able to complete it. The eligibility criteria can vary depending on the course, so make sure to check the specific requirements before you apply.

The Admission Process of IGNOU

The admission process of Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) is conducted both offline and online. Candidates can either visit the official website of the university or can apply through the regional centres. Students at IGNOU have the opportunity to take admission to two consecutive academic sessions in a year (January and July Season).

Candidates who wish to apply offline can get the application form from the regional centres. The application form has to be duly filled and submitted along with the required documents. The regional centre will then forward your application to the university.

Candidates who wish to apply online can do so by visiting the official website of Ignou. The website has an online admission portal where candidates can fill in their details and submit the application form. The application fee has to be paid through UPI, Credit Card, Debit Card or Net Banking.

After the submission of the application form, candidates will be allotted a study centre. They will then have to appear for an entrance test, which is mandatory for all courses. Based on their performance in the entrance test, candidates will be granted admission into the desired course.

The Exam Pattern and Syllabus of IGNOU

The Examination Pattern and Syllabus of IGNOU are decided by the IGNOU Board. The students who wish to appear for the examination have to submit their application form along with the prescribed fee before the last date. The examination is held twice a year, in the months of June and December.

The IGNOU Board has released the IGNOU Exam Pattern and Syllabus for the upcoming session. The pattern of the examination has been changed this year and will be based on Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs). There will be four sections in the question paper and each section will have 25 MCQs. The total marks for the examination will be 100 and the duration of the exam will be two hours.

The syllabus for the examination has also been released by the board. The syllabus is divided into four sections, namely, General English, General Awareness, Numerical Ability and Test of Reasoning. Each section will have 25 MCQs and the total marks for the section will be 25.

The candidates who are appearing for the examination must go through the IGNOU Exam Pattern and Syllabus thoroughly to score good marks in the examination.

The Results and Grading System of IGNOU

The Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) follows a very simple and straightforward results and grading system. The main aim of this system is to promote and encourage a healthy academic competition among the students.

There are two types of examinations conducted by IGNOU, which are Term-end Examinations (TEEs) and Continuous Assessment Tests (CATs). TEEs are conducted at the end of each semester, whereas CATs are held throughout the semester. The results of both these examinations are taken into account while preparing the final grade sheet of a student.

A student needs to obtain a minimum of 40% marks in both TEEs and CATs in order to pass the course. However, the passing marks for CATs are relaxable to 30% for those students who belong to the Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes (SC/ST) category.

The grades awarded to students who pass their courses are as follows:

  • A Grade: 60% and above
  • B Grade: 50% to 59%
  • C Grade: 40% to 49%
  • D Grade: 30% to 39%
  • E Grade: below 30%

Leave a Comment